Day 115

Posted: February 7, 2014 in A photo a day
Tags: ,

Image

Almost a year ago, my then-office mate suggested we should try and grow an avocado plant. How she came up with this idea, I’ll never know. I’m not sure had ever had avocado before (it’s really not a thing in mainland Europe, I think). Browsing through the web for tips, I realized that this is kind of a thing for elementary schoolers in the US? Interesting! In Germany, we usually grow watercress in science class.
Let me tell you, I failed miserably at this whole toothpick-pit construction business. I got another chance when I was given a pit that had started sprouting in a worm bin (because, of course, following the rules will kill the seed but leaving it undisturbed (except for some worms feeding off it) will work).
Of course, the plant moved to Potsdam with me where it’s now enjoying a lot of light (if not sun) next to my balcony door. I’m looking forward to better weather to give it the sun and air it craves. I haven’t spent a summer here, so I don’t know about the temperatures, but I’m guessing it’s not warm enough for it to ever produce avocados. (Also, I don’t know a whole lot about biology, so there’s that.)

Leave a Reply

