Day 167

Posted: March 29, 2014 in A photo a day
Tags: , , , , ,

Image

I just went ahead and created a DIY tag. Ahahahhahh! Hah.
I’ve been meaning to grow fresh herbs in my kitchen for a while. Unfortunately, there is a constant lack of space and natural light in my apartment and they basically never coincide. I’m not a big fan of Pinterest (I know, I know…) but it introduced me to vertical gardens. So I went to the hardware store and bought seeds, soil, two metal chains (whoever thought a self-service metal-chain cutting station was a good idea?), little pots with handles, and a few metal hooks. (Apparently, they’re called butcher hooks? Ahum.)
The chains are not mounted in any way but merely lie on top of the cabinet, so the weight of the pots balance each other out. My attempts at hanging two pots simultaneously had a certain slapstick quality.

What do we have here? Left are the shade-loving balm mint, peppermint (which I had to buy as a whole plant), cilantro (YAY!), and wild garlic. On the right are basil, chives, parsley, and rosemary. I’m really curious how they’ll do.

Comments
  1. knile says:

    I’ve always called them “S hooks” but that’s pretty much just in my head, I guess.

Leave a Reply

